Guest Author: Margaret Fieland

Susana:

Today my guest on Susana’s Morning Room is Margaret Fieland, who is here to tell us about her science fiction book for teens, Relocated. 

Welcome, Margaret! What’s Relocated all about?

margaretsmMargaret:

My main character, Keth, finds himself wisked away to a military base on an alien planet with almost no notice. His dad’s mission is to find an neutralize terrorists, and Keth worries something bad will happen to his dad. He’s plunged into a new environment and left to figure things out for himself. Here’s a letter (which does not appear in the book) he wrote to his best friend back home, Mark.

Dear Mark:

I promised I’d write you when I got to Aleyne, so here’s the letter. I don’t know when you’ll get it, since they send mail by message capsules, or on the space ships, and the one we came on left already. The next one is in six months.

Anyway, right now we’re staying with an Aleyni friend of Dad’s. His name is Ardaval, and he looks really old. I spent yesterday with him, and it was really fun.  Today I went to the port school. It was pretty boring, and the kids are boring, too. There’s this one cute girl, Henrietta, but she has a boyfriend, Tom. She’s bad news. I had to help her with her Aleyni language lesson because the teacher, John, was mad because I already spoke the language, and then she asked me to come over to her house. Fat chance. If I ever did, I bet Tom would kill me.

I don’t think I ever told you, but Dad made me learn Aleyni, and we always had these Aleyni exchange students hanging out at our apartment back on  Earth, so I had lots of practice. I guess he wants me to follow him into the Federation Guard. I always figured I’d join up when I was old enough.

Do you know I’m sixteen in Aleyni years? If I were an Aleyni, I’d be studying with an Aleyni master instead of in school at the port with a bunch of jorks.

How did the soccer tournament go?  I don’t think they have soccer teams here, so I won’t be playing. I miss you all. You can write back, but I probably won’t get your letter for a year.

Your friend,

Keth

What does Aleyne look like? I describe Keth’s reaction to the scenery in the first chapter, which you can read on the publisher’s website, but here are a couple of pictures I drew with GIMP, an image manipulating program, of what I imagine it’s like.

skycubeysmsandcartoonsm

About Relocated

When fourteen-year-old Keth’s dad is transferred to planet Aleyne, he doesn’t know what to expect. Certainly not to discover Dad grew up here, and studied with Ardaval, a noted Aleyni scholar. On Aleyne, Keth’s psi ability develops. However, psi is illegal in the Terran Federation. After a dangerous encounter with two Terran teenagers  conflict erupts between Keth and his father. Keth seeks sanctuary with Ardaval.  Studying with the Aleyne scholar Keth learns the truth about his own heritage. After Keth’s friend’s father, Mazos, is kidnapped, Keth ignores the risks and attempts to free him. Little does he realize who will pay the cost as he becomes involved with terrorists.

relocatedsmI’ll be giving away a copy of the book to one lucky commenter, so do please leave me a comment.

Available Formats: epub, prc, html, pdf

Website

Blog

Relocated blog

twitter: @madcapmaggie
About the Author

Born and raised in New York City, Margaret Fieland has lived in the Boston area since 1978.  She is an avid science fiction fan, and selected Robert A. Heinlein’s “Farmer in the Sky” for her tenth birthday, now long past. In spite of earning her living as a computer software engineer, she turned to one of her sons to put up the first version of her website, a clear indication of the computer generation gap. Thanks to her father’s relentless hounding, she can still recite the rules for pronoun agreement in both English and French. She can also write backwards and wiggle her ears. She is one of the Poetic Muselings. Their poetry anthology, Lifelines, was published by Inkspotter Publishing in November, 2011.  She is the author of Relocated, published by MuseItUp Publishing, and of Sand in the Desert. Her book,  The Angry Little Boy, will be published by 4RV Publishing in 2013.

4 thoughts on “Guest Author: Margaret Fieland

  1. Enjoyed the letter!. The nice thing about writing about other planets is as long as you storyline is scientifically possible, anything goes. You can create culture, language, food.. The book sounds like a winner!

Leave a Reply

