My TBR List For Summer + GIVEAWAY!

Inundated With Books

Untitled-1Are you like me…overwhelmed with piles of hundreds of books I’m dying to read, but not enough time to read them? Since I reinvented myself as an author/blogger/promo queen, the days seem to go by way too quickly. I used to read about five books a week—once I read an Outlander book in a DAY, believe it or not—but now I’m lucky to get through two. Now if I could hire someone to do clean the house and do the yard work, well, maybe I could get in one more. (Uh, maybe not. I’m not the greatest housekeeper. But the house and yard would certainly look better!)

So I thought I’d post a list of books I definitely want to get through this summer—before August 31. Not necessarily in this order:

*The Queen’s Favourites is an older hard copy I happen to have in my collection of Jean Plaidy/Philippa Carr books. I chose this one because it’s about Sarah Churchill and Anne Stuart, and last year I heard about their relationship while touring Blenheim Palace, which was built for the Duke of Marlborough (Sarah’s husband).

Of course, I have a few hundred others on my Kindle and several shelves full of print books, so these won’t even make a dent. And after my trip to Scotland (June 20-July 6), I may be inspired to add a few more Scotland-set books. Or even write one of my own, who knows?

What books are you planning to read this summer? Post your own list in the comment section and be eligible to win a deck of cards featuring covers of Ellora’s Cave books OR a Merry Monarchs card game from England (your choice). Will mail anywhere in the world!

4 thoughts on “My TBR List For Summer + GIVEAWAY!

  1. I really haven’t gotten a list together for the Summer because I ‘m overwhelmed with how many books are sitting in my TRL. 🙂 But I do love Brenda Joyce and her A Rose In The Storm and Nicola Cornick’s The Lady and The Laird. Those are definitely there. I’m getting over a small reading slump where nothing held my interest after a few pages. Nothing to do with the books or Authors, just me. 🙂 An Outlander book in a day is amazing. But I could never put one of her books down either. I thought I’d go blind the summer I read everyone of the Outlander books. Found her and the series years after she wrote them and loved that I read them all back to back. lol
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    • I know what you’re saying, Carol. BTW, I won lunch with Diana Gabaldon on the Brenda Novak Diabetes Auction. Can’t wait!

  2. I’ve never made a priority reading list (though there are titles listed on my TBR on goodreads), but I get so easily distracted by something new popping up or end up rereading something I’ve read a dozen times…so bad, bad, bad of me. Of course, you would be so organized, Susana. Bleh. 🙂

  3. Plan? I don’t have one. I waited for months for a book to come out from one of my favorite authors and before it did I found a series. Now I have to finish that. This is what happens when one is ADHD and OCD.

Leave a Reply

