Kathryn J. Bain and “Beautiful Imperfection”

An Inspirational Nude Scene?

 Can an inspirational book really have a nude scene and still be a Christian book? I believe the answer to that question is yes. If it is done tastefully, and there is nothing sexual about the scene.

For those not familiar with my writing, I am an inspirational author. Most of my books have a Christian theme to them. Even in my secular books, I mention God. He’s such an important part of my life, it’s hard not to put Him in a book.

However, in my latest release Beautiful Imperfection, there was a need for a scene where my heroine Teddy Federline takes off her shirt and looks at herself in the mirror. You see, she is dealing with the aftermath of breast cancer and feels deformed. I had to let the reader see what she was seeing in order for them to know why she feels that way.

In the scene, Teddy is alone. There is no sexual stimulation. Instead I tried to make it emotional. My Christian publisher seems to think I accomplished that.

In fact, I tried to make her breast cancer more about emotion than the scar on her chest. Because that’s really what the disease is. It’s about not feeling like a woman. Fear that your husband will no longer want to have sex with you. Fear you could still die. These are all thoughts survivors of breast cancer live with.

BeautifulImperfection_w11186_680The scene where Teddy is partially nude shows how fragile she’s become. Teddy is determined to beat the killer after her. Yet at that moment, she almost wishes he would catch her and finish her off.

There are times in our own lives where we feel like we can’t go on. All the junk thrown at us makes us want to quit. We just need to hold tight. It’s amazing how things change in a twenty-four hour period.

I’m not sure how this scene will play out with Christians. Some can be pretty staunch when it comes to things like this. I’m not too worried about the criticism I know I’ll receive. I’m actually prepared for it

The most important thing I want is for women who have dealt with breast cancer to feel good about themselves. Too see that the scar across their chest isn’t a scar, but “a badge of courage.” If only one woman comes away feeling better about herself, I think I’ve done the job God asked me to as an author.

P.S.: A portion of the sales from the book in 2013 will go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. For more information on the organizations, visit: http://www.bcrfcure.org/

About Beautiful Imperfection

197597_1007733841260_1462365699_13278_7836_n[1]When witnesses to a mass murder start dying, breast cancer survivor Teddy Federline must push aside her anger and trust an ex-boyfriend to ensure she lives long enough to testify against the killer.

Detective Sloan Michaels still has deep feelings for Teddy but realizes that after the way he left her years ago, he has a lot of making up to do. Now, he must keep his focus on the case and off the woman he loves. If Sloan doesn’t keep Teddy safe, he’ll never get a second chance.

Available

Amazon

8 thoughts on “Kathryn J. Bain and “Beautiful Imperfection”

  1. honestly that doesn’t bother me at all. I’ve written scenes in my inspirational books where the main characters are in the shower or bathroom, or checking themselves over in the mirror following a major car accident/surgery. What does bother me is having Christians using OMG. That is inexcusable. Normally daily routine – dressing etc, doesn’t.

  2. Wonderful story! And very tastefully done! God mentions that Adam and Eve were naked in the garden – together! And later they covered up…should that be changed??? The kind of comments your expected will come from small spirited Christians only. I love what you’ve done here and I agree, if it strengthens even one woman who is or has fought this battle, then God will indeed bless!

  3. As a Christian, whose faith is central to my life, I see this scene as creating inspiration in a big way. Everyone had crosses to bear, but some are bigger than others and the one Teddy must confront – and that means looking at square on – and overcome is one of the biggest a woman can cope with. I find this incredibly inspirational.

Leave a Reply

