Jennifer Zane and “Mischief Under the Mistletoe”

mischief_teaser3

Thank you to Susana’s Morning Room for having me today! We are dab smack in the middle of the holiday season and I thought I’d share a recipe that is so easy you don’t even have to do any dishes. Seriously.

My mom always talks about how her favorite kind of cooking involves just the use of one pot so there’s less to clean up. I love that—crockpot cooking or making a stove top dish with just one pot. Soup, maybe. Sounds extra good this time of year here in Colorado.

The recipe I’m sharing today involves no pots. Well, a crockpot, but no cleanup. At all! So my present to you this holiday season is homemade caramel.

Once you get the crockpot going, you should have plenty of time to sit back and read. Why not try my zany holiday short story Mischief Under The Mistletoe. It takes place in Bozeman, Montana and it’s time for a white elephant holiday party. You’ll recognize a few familiar faces from my previous romantic comedies, but you can enjoy this book (and all of them) as great stand-alone reads.

About Mischief Under the Mistletoe

mishief_under_the_mistletoe_72dpi_200x300Emma Hardy hasn’t been able to forget Sam Carter, or his incredible kiss in the elevator. Sadly, he rocked her world (and her libido), then calmly walked away, quit his job, and disappeared for two months. Not exactly the hot kiss follow-up she’d been hoping for. But Sam was busy making plans. And now, thanks to a glued-together gnome name George, a set of handcuffs, mistletoe, and a meddling adult store cupid disguised as an eccentric but innocent grandmother, Emma’s about to get the greatest Christmas gift of all…true love.

Homemade Caramel

  • A can of sweetened condensed milk
  • Water
  • Crockpot

Place the can of sweetened condensed milk in the crockpot and completely cover with water. Set to low and leave for 8 hours.

That’s it! Don’t OPEN the can. Make sure the can is COMPLETELY covered with water. You may want to flip it halfway through. I usually put several cans in at once because one can is never enough!

Enjoy the caramel and your holiday season (and Mischief Under The Mistletoe, too!)

I’d love to hear how your caramel turned out, so you can email me: jennifer@jenniferzane.com

To receive the inside scoop on my new releases, like Liar, Liar, Hearts On Fire which comes out on 1/16/14, join my mailing list. Sign up on my web site: http://www.jenniferzane.com. You can also find me on Twitter (@jenniferzane) and on Facebook (jenniferzanewriter)

Available on Amazon (for 99¢)

About the Author

Jennifer lives in Colorado, but spent five years hunting cowboys in Montana. She’s a Civil War buff who drags her children to reenactments back East where she grew up. She’s writing the next book in her Gnome Novel Series—this one titled: Gnome, Alaska. Her historical western- The Lady And The Lawman was released in May.

One thought on “Jennifer Zane and “Mischief Under the Mistletoe”

  1. Thanks for featuring this recipe. I had a taste of this when I was in the 6th grade as dulce de leche and yes, it is truly delish. I’m inspired to make it now! Thanks and good luck on your upcoming book release!

Leave a Reply

