G.S. Carr and “Freedom of Love”

NBtM_FreedomOfLove_Banner

The author will be awarding a $20 Amazon gift card, a swag pack with bookmarks, bracelets, key chains etc. related to Freedom of Love, and two paperback copies of her favorite romance novels, to a randomly drawn commenter between this tour AND the NBtM Reviews Tour. Click here for the Rafflecopter. Click on the banner above to follow the tour and increase your chances of winning!

Hello Everyone!

First, thanks to Susana for having me on her blog today and thank you to all the amazing readers who have come out to support me and my book.  I am very grateful and feel truly blessed to have the opportunity to share my work and hopefully have some great conversations with some amazing people.  Well, I guess I should dive right into the interview questions.

Susana: What inspired you to write?

G.S.: I don’t know if there was an exact moment or thing that happened that made me think, “Hey I should be a writer”.  It has been something I have always done and always enjoyed doing.  I still have a report card from the third grade on which my teacher wrote a comment about how I showed great potential in my writing skills and creativity.  Now that I think about it, maybe she was a psychic. Just kidding, but writing is my one true love.  Even if I never sold a single book I would still do it.  In fact I am donating a percentage of my sales to Freedom School. It is a great nonprofit that provides free summer school for children.  Their program is designed to reduce summer learning loss and in some cases help students get ahead for the next school year.

Susana: What is your favorite part about being a writer?

G.S.: My favorite part has been my conversations with my readers.  I get calls or messages asking how something turns out or why a character did something.   I had one person say, “If that was me I wouldn’t have let Vivian get away with that!” (Pick up your copy to see what they are talking about).  I love how the story has elicited such strong emotional responses from people.  How they can make comments like the one above, which tells me that they can put themselves in the shoes of the characters.  Talking with people about what they liked or even what they didn’t has been so rewarding for me. I can’t wait to write more and start new conversations with my readers.

Susana: What is the hardest part of being a writer for you?

G.S.: Writing is the easy part for me, everything else is hard. Naming the book, picking the cover, deciding how to market, these are the tough decisions for me.  As a person I don’t like making very big decisions. Especially decisions that are so important they have the ability to make or break your books success.  If it wasn’t for my publicist Vicki I would be lost in a world of “I have no clue”.  I think that it is very important for authors, especially new authors, to have a solid team of people to help you and also encourage you along your journey.  There is nothing wrong with admitting your lack of experience.

Susana: Do you have a favorite quote or saying?

G.S.: “I will out run you every time because I am willing to die on my treadmill”. –Will Smith

This to me is exactly what it means to be a successful writer.  You have to believe in yourself and your work and be willing to work tirelessly to become a better writer.  There are many writers and great stories out there.  You have to continuously work hard and develop that one thing that will set you and your work apart from the pack.  As a writer you should constantly be looking for that opportunity to promote your work and always be ready so that you don’t miss it.

About Freedom of Love

The stunning daughter of the French nobleman Dominique, marquis d’Chartes and the African beauty Imani Marsan, Soleil is captivated by everything during her first trip to America including Alex.  She loves him almost from their first meeting. However, their love is interrupted when she is abducted and sold into slavery.  Alone and scared she only wishes to regain her freedom.

Cover_Freedom of LoveAlexander couldn’t help but love the exotic beauty with the caramel skin that made him want to taste it.  Losing her was the hardest day of his life. After years of searching she appears as if conjured by his deepest desires. But she returns far from the same.  Can they rekindle their love or will they never find the freedom only love can bring.

Available

Barnes & NobleAmazon

Excerpt

Jane ran as fast as she could.  She refused to be caught by Jacob and his men even if she had to die trying to escape.  Between the gash across her stomach and the small load on her back she was moving slowly in her progression, but she would not give up.  She had to find a river and soon to conceal her scent.  With her wound bleeding harder under the strain of her physical exertion, the bloodhounds had no problem keeping track of her.

“Maman, I’m scared.”  Jane reached around her back to sooth her daughter.  “I will not let you come to any harm mon amour.”  Jane knew the little girl was scared beyond belief.  She had seen the beatings Jacob had given Jane and knew that if he caught them there would be hell to pay.  Jacob and his men were getting closer with each passing second and it wouldn’t be long before they were caught.  Jane couldn’t let anything happen to Hope and had to keep her safe.  With a look over her shoulder Jane made a decision.

About the Author

Author PhotoRaised in Charlotte NC, G.S. Carr has always enjoyed indulging in her imagination. At a very young age she had a thirst for reading and the many possibilities it helped come alive in her mind’s eye.  She consumed books like they were the air she needed to survive. It seemed inevitable that her love of reading would transcend into a desire to create her own stories.  She began writing poetry and stories at the age of 10.  By the time she was thirteen she found her passion in the romance genre and has not looked back ever since.

Contacts

FacebookTwitter

10 thoughts on “G.S. Carr and “Freedom of Love”

  1. Hi! Thank you so much Susan for having me today. I just wanted to let everyone know that I am in Germany now traveling about so my internet access will be limited but I will pop in from time to time to say hello. I hope everyone has a great New Years. Anything special plans for the evening?

  2. Happy New Years everyone! I hope you all had a great evening filled with love and joy that spills over into this upcoming year. Thank you all for stopping by to learn a little about me and my book.

  3. Thank you to everyone who took the time to learn a little more about me. I love to give away free copies of everything that I am working on. If you wouldn’t mind reading and telling me what you think I’m more than happy to send you free copies. Let me know: author.gscarr@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

